The University of the Incarnate Word is accredited by the Commission on Colleges, Southern Association of Colleges and Schools to award associate, baccalaureate, masters, doctorate, and professional degrees. Contact the Commission on Colleges at 1866 Southern Lane, Decatur, Georgia, 30033-4097, telephone 404-679-4500, web site:

The University holds national and specialized accreditations in the following disciplines:

College of Humanities, Arts, and Social Sciences:

American Association for Music Therapy (BM in Music Therapy)

National Association of Schools of Theater (BA in Theatre Arts)

Division of Extended Academic Programs:

Accreditation Council of Collegiate Business Schools and Programs for the following business programs:

  • Bachelor of Science (BS) degree with concentrations in Accounting, Finance, General Business, Information Systems, Management, and Marketing

Dreeben School of Education:

Texas State Board for Education Certification (all teacher certification programs)

Feik School of Pharmacy:

Accreditation Council for Pharmacy Education (Doctor of Pharmacy)

H-E-B School of Business and Administration:

Accreditation Council for Business Schools and Programs for the following business programs:

  • Bachelor of Business Administration (BBA) degree with concentrations in Accounting, Banking and Finance, General Business, Information Systems, International Business, Management, Marketing, Merchandising Management and Sport Management.
  • Master of Business Administration (MBA)

Rosenberg School of Optometry:

"Accredited" status by the Accreditation Council on Optometric Education of the American Optometric Association

School of Media and Design

Council for Interior Design Accreditation (B.A. in Interior Environmental Design)

School of Mathematics, Science, and Engineering:

Academy of Nutrition and dietetics (BS and MS in Nutrition, and Dietetic Internship)

School of Nursing and Health Professions:

Texas Board of Nursing (BSN)

Commission for Collegiate Nursing Education (BSN and MSN)

Joint Review Committee on Educational Programs in Nuclear Medicine Technology (BS Nuclear Medicine Science)

Commission of Accreditation of Athletic Training Education Programs (BS Athletic Training)

School of Physical Therapy:

"Candidate for Accreditation" status by the Commission on Accreditation in Physical Therapy Education.